Decision

Let’s start with bad news: My flight out of Vegas got delayed like woah, and I’m now sitting here hawking off the free wireless in the terminal.

Even more bad news: I had to make three very, very difficult phone calls this afternoon as I came to a decision on my choice of summer employment.  I literally spent two hours staring at the wall thinking about my options and another 20 minutes building up the strength to call them.  I guess I don’t like having to repay great conversations and job offers with a word of rejection.

So, the good…no, great news: Which one did I select?  Option #3.

It really came down to a few things:

  1. I’ve already been assigned my project; it’ll be a comprehensive analysis of Chicago’s public transit system, and I’ll be working in close contact with the Mayor’s office on that initiative — getting to work with the 3rd largest city government in the US sounds like a pretty fantastic opportunity.
  2. Since I’m getting a dual degree, the “full time after graduating” thing is still down the road; I can use this experience to get a real-time consulting project for consideration with my target firms (including Bridgespan).
  3. It came down to Chicago or New York for the summer, and I got yanked in by the myriad classmates who swear by Chi-town as a great place to live.
  4. My mentor is the CEO of the firm, a former manager for a Big 3, and according to a former intern for the company “one of the most amazing people I know”.
  5.  Oh yeah, that former intern was completely blown away by her experience and is fortunate enough to be returning to the firm upon graduating (she’s getting an MPP…no MBA culture trap 🙂 )

So…the 40-ton cinder block has been removed, I’m stuffing my Crackberry in the deep recesses of my laptop bag, and I’m going to relax.  You can find me this next week sitting on the beach with a Corona in my hand..and if you talk about school, recruiting, or politics, I will throw a crab at your face.

4 Responses to Decision

  1. vidiviciveni says:

    I think you made a great choice – ATB for the summer, and I hope it turns out even better than you expect!

  2. JulyDream says:

    Congrats on the decision! That’s great news. Hope you made it back from Vegas safely, I think I’m still recovering from my adventure.

  3. adam says:

    dude, that’s the one i was hoping you’d pick.

    you will not be disappointed by chicago.
    let’s go see the cubbies.
    and what an awesome opportunity. i can’t believe you get to work with cta.
    and have such a great mentor.
    and and and and and. happy days.
    try to keep the doors open with your other companies, though.

  4. […] the meantime, let’s look back at the process that got me here in the first place.  Since this happens to be the Year of The Full Circle […]

Leave a Reply

