I went to Business School and All I Got Was This Lousy Coffee Mug

SO you might be wondering what the corporate recruiting process is like here at Ross. Image:

The arrow’s pointing toward our online resume drop. And there’s no foliage this time of year, so it’s a bit doctored.

Of course, the big question you’re asking is probably this: “I thought business school was easy after the first fourteen weeks!” Oh ho HO HO ho, someone’s messin wit’ your head.

Basically, Ross’ interview schematic goes like this:
1. You decide to submit your resume to a company’s job posting.
2. At the deadline the company will screen the resumes and select a set of resumes to offer “closed list” interview invites. In most cases, it will fill about 75% of its available interview slots (amount varies depending on firm; some firms have as little as 12 while others interview 70+) with these closed list invites.
3. The other 25% of the slots go up for bid — it’s a blind, three-day process in which all other interested candidates “bid” for an opportunity to interview with the company. Each MBA1 is given 1000 points to use for bids for the entire semester — you have to use your points strategically and wisely (and frugally sometimes). To offer some perspective, the firm I bid for last week went for 300 points. Since I’m now on the interview schedule, I now have 700 left to use for all my other companies (eep…). Oh, and all closed listed candidates are charged 50 points per interview (this is so they don’t go and fill up the schedules of 50 companies. Not only is that poor form, it’s also downright insane. Sheez.)

So, how successful IS bidding? After all, the company didn’t want you the first time; who’s to say they’ll even give you a look? Turns out that candidates that bid on interviews do QUITE well — not amazingly, but no worse than those that were closed listed. Interviewers are blind to their candidate’s status (closed listed, bid, etc.); several MBA2s I know got all their offers through the bid process; many of them are on their way back to those firms after gradumaytion.

So…yeah. While I could spend a few minutes also lamenting even more about my job search, I’ll just mention that the highlight of my week was getting this:

My section has a mug, what, my section has a mug….

2 Responses to I went to Business School and All I Got Was This Lousy Coffee Mug

  1. Dad says:

    Matt, Nice Mug!! The cup, not your face.
    I hope that the lessons of persistence that your mother and I tried to impart to you will sustain you in your ultimate quest. You are always going to encounter naysayers on your journey, but you know that you just need to keep your goal in sight. Just like hunting pheasants, remember to follow through with your shot.
    Love, Dad

  2. Kary Arie says:

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!|

Leave a Reply

