Dad Knows Best

“Hello?”
“Hi Dad, what’s up?”
“Hiya son!  Welcome home!  How’s your cold?”
(cough) “Well, still lingering.”
“That’s okay…how are you otherwise?”
“Eh, not so good.  I don’t think Michigan’s gonna invite me back.”
“Really?  That’s too bad.  Guess they didn’t appreciate your undergraduate dollars enough.”
(laughing) “Heh, I guess not.  You’d figure anyone would want you to give them $100,000 for you to show up for another two years!”
“Yeah!”
“So…I don’t know what I’m gonna do, Dad.  I feel like I’m running out of options here…”
“Well son, just take it one step at a time.  Life is full of setbacks, and this might be one, but just know that your mother and I are praying for you.  God will reveal your path in time.”

[At this point in the conversation, I flashed back to second grade when Dad lost his job.  Twenty-five years at his company, and suddenly he found himself on the right side of the picket line.  Twelve years later, he’d be in a fight over his next company’s pension withholdings.  Dad KNOWS about setbacks and heartache.  And in the grand perspective, it’s often true that they come at the hands of others.  They don’t always mean ill will upon you, not at all, but someone tends to get hurt in the process.  I’ve been somewhat sheltered from big setbacks, the ones that leave you with such a dejected feeling you’re almost ready to crawl into bed to ignore them, so it’s not surprising that I’m taking this sorta hard.  But if he can survive and prevail, then I sure as hell can too.]

“Yeah…you’re right, Dad.”
“Let me put your mom on.  I love you, and feel better.  Enjoy your trip to California!”
“Thanks Dad…I love you too.”

6 Responses to Dad Knows Best

  1. Chris Kerns says:

    Having a supportive family is such a wonderful thing. I’m fortunate to enjoy the same level of support. It’s easy to take for granted, but there are many out there who aren’t so fortunate.

  2. asiangal says:

    I made the mistake of introducing some b-school terminology into my household, and my family is showing their love and affection for my by saying DING (in a teasing manner of course) every time I pass by. Harsh love, I tell you. =)

  3. mba_salsera says:

    Family gets you through every time 🙂 I’m about to be dinged by Ross too…I feel your pain. Something will workout in the end…it always does! Good luck!

  4. Blake says:

    Praise God for your supportive family. I too have been blessed like that, yet in recent years I’ve seen how rare it is. Too many of my friends’ parents manipulate them and only support them when they do what THEY (the parents) want. So sad. Give your dad a high-five for me for being so awesome!

    Stay the course bro. God’s got you in His palm and you ain’t gonna fall out. 😉

  5. Christopher Wondra says:

    “To live will be a great adventure.” Peter Pan.

    The hero’s journey is one that you can either choose to embark on, or not. With courage, you can follow the path to its end, and grow and mature as an individual into adulthood–or you can stay a child.

    And you can do this many times in the same lifetime.

    The path of the hero is cyclical, and can be simplified into these parts:

    1. Call to adventure
    2. Threshold
    3. Challenges and Temptations
    4. Abyss (death and rebirth)
    5. Transformation
    6. Atonement
    7. Return

    If you examine your father’s past challenges, can you see these steps? Can you relate these steps to your own life? What part of the journey are you on now?

    Good luck–and may the force be with you. 🙂

    Chris

  6. Vlad says:

    Can this just be the best single post that I have read on the (many) MBA blogs I have been visiting lately? Hmmm… no way to be sure, but I do know it ranks up there with the best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

